Born to Die / Geboren, um zu sterben

I have heard Lana Del Rey’s songs a lot on the radio lately. It took me some time to find out to which song the lines “Heaven is a place on earth with you” belonged to, but I finally managed to detect that it is a tune called “Video Games” sung by Lana Del Rey. Funny thing – I’ve just had heard this other song of her in the radio: “Born to Die” when I found out.

I do not really know Lana Del Rey, but I like her music which is – that is how I perceive it – really simple but in its simpleness profound and melancholic. Her voice has a special sound to it – one will be able to recognize her voice on the radio, I think. What I like about the song “Born to Die” is its mixture of sadness and its almost celebratory rhythm and percussion use. Moreover, I adore the scenes with the dais and the two tigers in the video. That looks so cool!

Feet don’t fail me now
Take me to the finish line.
All my heart, it breaks every step that I take
But I’m hoping that the gates,
They’ll tell me that you’re mine.
Walking through the city streets
Is it by mistake or design?
I feel so alone on a Friday night
Can you make it feel like home, if I tell you you’re mine?
It’s like I told you honey.
Lasst mich jetzt nicht im Stich, Füsse,
bringt mich zur Ziellinie.
Mein ganzes Herz bricht mit jedem Schritt, den ich gehe,
aber ich hoffe, dass mir die (Himmels-)Tore
sagen werden, dass du mein bist.
Ich gehe durch die Strassen der Stadt,
ist es aus Versehen oder mit Absicht?
Ich fühle mich so alleine in einer Freitagnacht,
kannst du es wie zu Hause fühlen lassen, wenn ich dir sage, dass du mein bist?
Es ist, wie ich dir gesagt habe, Schatz.
CHORUS 1
Don’t make me sad, don’t make me cry.
Sometimes love is not enough and the road gets tough
I don’t know why.
Keep making me laugh,
Let’s go get high.
The road is long, we carry on
Try to have fun in the meantime.
REFRAIN 1
Mach mich nicht traurig, bring mich nicht zum Weinen.
Manchmal ist Liebe nicht genug und der Weg wird steinig,
ich weiss nicht warum.
Bring mich weiterhin zum Lachen,
komm, lass uns ekstasisch werden.
Der Weg ist lang, wir gehen weiter und
versuchen, in der Zwischenzeit Spass zu haben.
CHORUS 2
Come and take a walk on the wild side,
Let me kiss you hard in the pouring rain,
You like your girls insane.
Choose your last words,
This is the last time,
Cause you and I, we were born to die.
REFRAIN 2
Komm und mach einen Spaziergang auf der wilden Seite,
lass mich dich heftig im Regen küssen,
du magst deine Mädchen, wenn sie verrückt sind.
Wähle deine letzten Worte,
das ist unser letztes Mal,
denn du und ich, wir wurden geboren, um zu sterben.
Lost but now I am found,
I can see but once I was blind.
I was so confused as a little child,
Tried to take what I could get,
Scared that I couldn’t find
All the answers, honey.
Verloren war ich, aber nun bin ich gefunden worden,
ich kann nun sehen, aber einst, da war ich blind.
Ich war so verwirrt, als ich ein noch ein kleines Kind war,
ich versuchte, zu bekommen, was ich bekommen konnte,
in der Angst dass ich nicht
alle Antworten finden würden könnte, Schatz.
CHORUS 1 REFRAIN 1
CHORUS 2
REPETITIONS of CHORUS 1 AND 2
REFRAIN 2
WIEDERHOLUNGEN von REFRAIN 1 UND 2

Official Webpage of Lana Del Rey: http://www.lanadelrey.com

About Dana Winvalley

I am an 18-year-old student of English and German at university. I love music, books, dogs, art and other things, as well. In my spare time I write this blog to refine my English skills and to share my learning experiences and tips with other (language) learners.

Leave a Reply

